Excerpts from my book, “Beyond Dark”

Lavinia Thompson
10 min readOct 27, 2022

This is a bit of a different kind of post from me, straying from my true crime content to introduce you all to my love of fiction writing, and the mystery series I am writing, titled “Beyond Dark.” It follows Agent Alyssa Rawkesby, a criminal profiler tormented by her past traumas and a parent’s legacy she can never really shake. She also specializes in the psychology of female serial killers. Book one, “Belladonna”, finds her investigating a bizarre string of poisonings, and the killer’s profile and public taunts threaten to unleash Alyssa’s own unsteady history. Paired with a new rookie partner, she needs to keep from unravelling in order to solve this case and stop an ice-cold killer from making a public display out of another victim.

“Beyond Dark” started my obsession with female serial killers and it’s why I write about them here on Medium, sharing my book research and passion for criminal psychology. Come along for a few excerpts from my debut novel, “Beyond Dark 1: Belladonna.”

Excerpt 1: Meet Alyssa

May 20, 2016

Friday

Ottawa, Ontario

Sometimes the dead couldn’t get any peace. Across the street, yellow crime scene tape that cordoned off the alley overflowed with eager reporters and camera flashes. Alyssa sighed in the front seat of…

--

--

Lavinia Thompson

Just an old garden witch who writes about murder, true and fictional.